Diamond’s Journey – Learning to Wear a Grazing Muzzle, 8-21-17

Since Diamond is a pony and ponies often have insulin resistance (IR) and suffer from laminitis, I had her tested for IR after she’d been with me one month.  During that month, she’d only had the same IR diet that my IR horse, Atticus, ate – substituting Triple Crown Low Starch feed for Atty’s TC Lite.

Her numbers indicated that she is right on the edge of being IR – and that’s while being on an IR diet.

With that in mind, I decided that she needed a grazing muzzle like Atty’s before she could go out to graze.  Unfortunately, the muzzles were on back order and we had to wait until mid-August before it came in.

Once it was in my possession, I went straight to training Diamond to wear it.  Previous training to wear a halter with her permission (not having it forced on her) really paid off.  She rarely objected to the muzzle training and really seemed to get into it.  The only thing that seemed off-putting to her was my touching her ears, but she quickly got over it.

Here are three shorts clips to show the process and the progress.  The training was done in two fairly short sessions in one day (five and seven minutes respectively).

The first clip is at the beginning of the first session:

The second clip is at the end of the first session:

The third clip is at the end of the second session.  You can see that I drop some pellets into her feed pan so that she can figure out how to eat them while wearing the muzzle.

Diamond is very, very quick at picking up new behaviors!  Sometimes that’s good, like this.  And sometimes it’s not!  But maybe more about that some other time.

To contribute to her fund for her fostering and rehab, please go here.

Her Facebook page can be found here.

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
Gallery | This entry was posted in Clicker Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Diamond’s Journey – Learning to Wear a Grazing Muzzle, 8-21-17

  1. HippoLogic says:

    I love the way you took the time to train her to wear it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

