Diamond and Hoof Handling, 7-6-17

We have been working on hoof handling lately because the trimmer is coming tomorrow.  I’ve been trying to put hoof handling at the top of the list, but there have been lots of other things to work on as well.  Time flies while you’re having fun training and so here we are five weeks from when Diamond first arrived and we’re still not really ready for the trimmer.  We’ll have to use drugs tomorrow, but that’s better than manhandling and having to start over.  Again.  Better living through chemistry.  😛

Here are a couple of videos to show you what we’ve been working on and how.  Because Diamond starts to paw quite soon in the session, I’ve shortened things to only three, maybe four, repetitions.  Then I put down a handful of feed and leave.  When I come back, I give her a free treat for staying in the wash stall.  You can see how well she does that!  🙂

Please also note that I started touching her knee.  This is an idea started by Becky Strassner and shared with me by Peggy Hogan.  There seems to be some calming effect as training goes on.  Maybe for Diamond it’s a more precise, defined behavior – target knee to hand?

If you hear me click as I leave Diamond, know that I’m clicking Atticus for having his ears up and then I treat him before I come back to Diamond.

Enjoy!

 

To contribute to her fund for her fostering and rehab, please go here.

Her Facebook page can be found here.

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
Gallery | This entry was posted in Clicker Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

