Diamond and Foot Handling, 7-1-17

I just want to catch everyone up on what Diamond and I have been up to lately.

There is so much that needs to be done and they’re all top priority:

* Haltering
* Stationing
* Foot Handling
* Shots
* Worming

I think we’ve made some progress on haltering, but we have much more to do.

Now I’m focusing on foot handling since the trimmer is due back on Friday.  I don’t know that we’ll be anywhere close to where we need to be to get her feet done without fallout, especially without drugs.  I’ll call the vet on Monday to see if we can use a sedative and how much or if we need to skip the trimming for another few weeks.

Here is a video of her best side on foot lifting:

She’s doing great at stationing and simply doesn’t care that Atticus tries to dive bomb her when he can.  This video is a bit long but I get a kick out of Atticus backing onto the pedestal and that Diamond doesn’t move at all!

In fact, Diamond has let both of the big boys know in no uncertain terms that she is Boss Mare of Pony Size!  She has double-barreled Ollie in one short altercation and left two sets of double prints on him.  She initially got along with Atticus in the field but kicked him but good the next day in closer quarters.

They are all now sharing the same paddock and seeming to get along if not becoming friends.

To contribute to her fund for her fostering and rehab, please go here.

Her Facebook page can be found here.

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
Gallery | This entry was posted in Clicker Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

