Trailering Skills Session #149, 5-7-14

Atty on Trailer PHThis particular day started out a little odd as I began by asking my husband to help me reset the blueberry bushes in their pots – they’d sunk down about eight inches or so.  He said he’d be out in about ten minutes.

I set up the trailer and got my treats out to play with Mr. A.  He came out with me and I figured (somehow) that I’d be able to get a short training session in before the husband appeared.

I just got Atty in the lane for trailer loading and knew that he’d be grazing on what he could find for a few minutes.  That’s when my husband came out.  I realized that Atty could take awhile and decided to just let him eat the grass he could find and hubby and I would deal with the blueberry bush.

As we were repotting the bush, I heard hooves clomping onto the trailer.  I looked up and told him he was a good boy.  I knew he’d find the treats, including a Stud Muffin, in the hay bag and that he’d be alright.  He got off a minute or so later.

We finished with the blueberry and I went to the tack room to get my treat bag.  As I did so, Mr. A got on the trailer again and looked at me from out the side door.  Clearly, his expression said, “Hey, mom!  Look at me!  I’m in the trailer!  Look, look, look!”

I would have tried to get my phone out to take a picture or maybe video, but I thought that maybe I should hustle out there with some treats while he was still on the trailer!

It was a great session and I even moved him in the trailer a few feet.

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
Gallery | This entry was posted in Clicker Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

