Trailering Session #150, 5-12-14

In the last four sessions of practicing trailering skills, I have moved Atticus, while in the trailer, five feet, ten feet, 30 feet, and 50 feet.  He has done excellently each time – waiting for each piece of our routine before moving on (with one exception) and then getting back on the trailer a second time.

The one exception I mentioned, was when I inadvertently left the right-hand back door open and dropped the butt bar at the same go.  Since that was a difference in criteria, I should have clicked and treated that separately.  But I think I was a bit asleep or something as I usually close that door.

What happened next was that Atticus just backed himself off the trailer as soon as I dropped the butt bar.

Bad me.  I need to keep my routine in place or be thinking better/faster.  However, if I had been thinking properly, I wouldn’t have left that door open to begin with.

The funny thing that happened a couple of days ago was when I left Mr. A to wander the lane after coming off the trailer for the last time that day.  I went off to do something and came back to find him missing.  Or, at least, I couldn’t see him.  There wasn’t any way he could have gotten out of the lane as all of its possible exits were closed.

I looked along side the driver’s side of the truck and trailer and no Atty.  I went to the passenger side and no Atty.  I came back to the driver side and there he was, just coming around the front corner of the truck and down the driver’s side between the truck and the barn.

I waited to see what he would do since there really wasn’t a way out going forward there.  The trailer fender is too close to the barn and there’s a bit of bramble in the way.

I grabbed a nearby plastic chair and sat down to watch.  He backed up once on his own and then went crosswise, looking like he was contemplating climbing over the hitch.  But he backed out of there and came down to the trailer fender again.

He did begin to back up again with my encouragement.  But I decided he needed more help to get all the way out.

I did video this but I forgot that my cell phone only videos for about five minutes.  Again, had I been thinking more clearly (or just remembered this fact), I would have tried to get it all on video.  Alas, I only have the first five minutes.

 

 

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
Gallery | This entry was posted in Clicker Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

