Teaching Atticus to Bob for Apples

This has been an interesting experience. To begin, I filled the tub with water and let each of the horses have a go. Ollie is a champ at it. But both Buzz and Atticus needed help. They did not want to get their whiskers wet!

This is the post for that: https://clickerchronicles.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=345&action=edit

Then I reported this for September 4, 2013: “On the way to the trailer was the muck tub with about 4 inches of water in it as well as an apple. Atty went straight to the tub and looked for the apple. He first bit a little out of it and then went for the whole thing, which he got. But he then tried to bite it in half while it was in his mouth. He lost it and it rolled away. I put it back in the tub. He then bit a bite out of it first before going for it again. This time he had made it small enough by taking bites out of it first that it fit in his mouth and he could eat it all without dropping it. Poor guy! Big horse! Small mouth!”

This was my report for September 6, 2013: “Yesterday, I put enough water into the tub so that there was tow to three inches of water under the apple. Atty pushed it to the bottom and got it. But then while he tried to bite it in half, he lost it and it rolled away. I got it back for him and he tried again. This time he took a bite out of it and ate that. Then another and another. The he was able to get the whole apple and bite it in half.

“Today, I added enough water to the tub so that the apple had at least four inches under it. Atty pushed it to the bottom and bit a little out of it. He did that two more times. Then he pushed it to the bottom and got the whole thing (what was left of it, anyway). And then he was able to keep the whole apple in his mouth while he ate it.”

And this is what happened on September 10, 2013: “In Apple Bobbing game, there was even more water in the muck tub today so that if he tried to push it to the bottom, he really had to dive for it. He’d start then pull his nose out right away. I think he wrinkled it a bit and maybe gave a tiny snort. At one point, he tried blowing bubbles on the way down! Good idea! But the next attempt he got water in his nose and he had to snort a lot and make the Flehmen motion with his nose.

“He walked away at one point, so I picked up the apple and took a bite out of it for him. He must have heard that because he came back to try again and I dropped the bite into the water. He got the apple a couple of times, but dropped it, and I had to pick it up and drop it back into the water for him. He eventually got the apple after taking bites out of it himself, but I don’t think he liked the new depth.

“While I was filling the tub, he grabbed one of the rope handles and I thought he was going to overturn the tub, but he didn’t. It’s curious that he hasn’t overturned the tub when the apples are in it since I know that he’s emptied that tub many, many times. He pawed at it the very first day we tried this and I thought he was going to dump it over then, but he didn’t.”

This is the blog for September 11, 2013, with video: https://clickerchronicles.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=356&action=edit

Then this on the 12th: https://clickerchronicles.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=359&action=edit

And today: Atty Apple Bobbing, 9-18-13

This is Atty’s newest technique. And this from the boy who didn’t want to get his lips wet!

I think he’s come a long way!

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
Gallery | This entry was posted in Clicker Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

