Paddock Games, 9-6-13

Update on Apple Bobbing, 9-6-13

Yesterday, I put enough water into the tub so that there was tow to three inches of water under the apple. Atty pushed it to the bottom and got it. But then while he tried to bite it in half, he lost it and it rolled away. I got it back for him and he tried again. This time he took a bite out of it and ate that. Then another and another. The he was able to get the whole apple and bite it in half.

Today, I added enough water to the tub so that the apple had at least four inches under it. Atty pushed it to the bottom and bit a little out of it. He did that two more times. Then he pushed it to the bottom and got the whole thing (what was left of it, anyway). And then he was able to keep the whole apple in his mouth while he ate it.

Go Out Games:

Yesterday and today I worked on putting his target touching on cue with the reflector as the cue. I’m not recognizing a number of “ghost” or “superstitious” behaviors mixed in the the targeting behavior: nose rub on leg, bite at fly, look off into the distance either past me or away from me, walk around me in a circle. Very inventive he is.

Every time he offered any behavior not on cue, and that includes touching the target off cue as well as any of the “ghost” behaviors, I counted to “four one-thousand” before offering the reflector as the cue.

If he nosed the reflector, I put it away again. If he touched the target after nosing the reflector, I did not CT. If he put in any other behavior, such as those listed above, and then touched the target, I did not CT. If he just plain took too long, I did not CT.

This is really cleaning up nicely.

We finished today with apple bobbing.

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
Gallery | This entry was posted in Clicker Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

