Apple Bobbing Games

8-26-13

I’ve played this a couple or three times with everyone.

Buzz basically gives up right away. So a time or two ago, I cut the apple into quarters and removed most of the water so that there was just enough to cover the bottom but not enough to float the apple quarters. He managed to get all the pieces, but he was a little put off by having to get his lips and whiskers wet!

I did that again the last time and again today. Today Buzz was quite willing to play the game and get pieces of apple and not minding getting wet. He even whickered at me to get more apples for him so that he could keep playing the game.

Ollie is the Apple Bobbing Champ! From the beginning Ollie could get the apples whole. He’s getting quicker and quicker at it and he doesn’t mind diving for them. My son says that he’s so good at it because of his big lips. And he has a big enough mouth that he can halve the apple and keep both pieces without dropping either half!

Atticus also had to have some help. Two times ago, I cut the apple into quarters and held them in the water for him. Then the last time, with only a little more water in the muck tub than Buzz (floating just a little) and quarters, he was able to get them. I then gave him a halved apple and tried floating the pieces cut side down. But he couldn’t get them – they floated too high in the water. I turn them over and he could get them right away since they floated a little lower in the water with the cut side up. Atty has a very shallow mouth.

Today, I gave him two apple halves cut side down and he was able to get them right away! Progress!

This is very interesting how each one is so different in how they respond to the challenge.

8-27-13

Buzz is getting better and better. Today he got two halves instead of quarters and they were floating a little. He was able to get both halves quite quickly. He is also willing to leave the hay box to come play the game.

Atty was able to get a whole apple floating in a little more water than what Buzz had. He dropped the second half of the apple (after biting it) in the tub rather than on the ground.

Ollie, as usual, got his whole apple right away and is able to keep both halves in his mouth once his bites it into pieces. He just pushes the apple to the bottom of the tub. The apple is in about 6-8 inches of water. Then he goes looking for the bits that have escaped.

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
Gallery | This entry was posted in Clicker Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

