Bob Bailey and Parvene Farhoody Chicken Workshops, Part Two

I’m still processing and trying to internalize everything that we talked about, learned about, and experienced during the Chicken Workshops. There is so much to learn.

Some of the highlights:

The workshop was NOT about:

* Developing relationships or hierarchies (please, no alpha rolling the chickens).
* Thoughts (Vulcan mind melds are not permitted).
* Emotions (Emoting with a chicken will not get you behavior).
* Tricks or gimmicks (we get behavior the hard way – we earn it!)

“We believe that every trainer:

“is a consumer of technology.
“should be a critical consumer.
“should look carefully.
“should listen carefully.
“should be skeptical.

“We suggest that you:
“Listen carefully to what we say.
“Test what we say.
“Judge what we say.

“Don’t believe what we say because we say it.
“Don’t believe what we say because of ideology.

“Do believe what works!”

What resonates with you?

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
Gallery | This entry was posted in Clicker Training and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

