Atty Staying on the Trailer, Session #88A, 6-24-13

Today’s session lasted a total of about 18 minutes. He got on right away and stayed on about 3 1/2 minutes. This clip, in regular speed, would be about eight minutes long. In one sense, it’s really boring which is why I speeded it up 4x. On the other had, good training is boring. 🙂 Notice, that he barely moves. I really like that.

In each trial, I let him target his boat bumper and click and treat for each one and he does three. I drop a small handful of treats in the hay bag and start the trial of walking away toward the back of the trailer, to touch a hock, rattle the butt bar, put the butt bar up, or close the door, etc.

I also varied my treats. I know he really loves those Stud Muffins, so I try to use them judiciously. Sometimes I use them to reinforce staying on the trailer. Sometimes I use them in pieces for targeting his boat bumper and sometimes they’re the “jackpot” in the hay bag as I leave. Or I might use a whole one or one broken up as a jackpot for staying on the trailer.

This really only part of today’s session. I’ll upload the last four minutes separately.

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
Gallery | This entry was posted in Clicker Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

