Atticus and Trailer Loading Skills, Session #87, 6-19-13

This is another review session like Session #85. I was hoping that we’d be able to put the butt bar up on the next session after #85, but Session #86 was in a thunderstorm. That meant backing up again to review as before – standing while I walk away and return. Then standing while I walk to the back of the trailer and rattle the butt bar. This is all good practice and help solidify the behavior I want – standing on the trailer.

I also worked some more on cleaning up the behavior chain or training loop so that the stepping back will, I hope, eventually drop out. The stepping back is a “ghost” behavior or a superstitious behavior in that Atty may think that it’s supposed to be in there. Or that he’s confused on the cues. Does my walking away mean that he’s supposed to go with me? Or that I’m going back there to let him off? I want to keep the wait but not the stepping back. Sometimes the animal thinks it knows what’s coming and tends to skip steps.

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
Gallery | This entry was posted in Clicker Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

