Atty on the Trailer, Engine On, and I’m on the Other Side, 5-17-13

This session lasted about 15 minutes and Atty got on and off only five times this session, compared to yesterday. Another lowering of criteria was to latch the off-side door open so that if I tried walking away, it wouldn’t automatically close on him. The session started with the truck engine off and I started it about five minutes in. He got off when I did that. Again, part of the goal was to practice standing on the trailer while I tried to step away. I’d wait for him to target his boat bumper (initiator signal) and turn away. Sometimes I CT’d for targeting, sometimes for looking at me, sometimes for his head in the hay bag.

I started walking around the trailer, first going around the front of the trailer. But I changed to walking around the open back of the trailer so that he could see me more. And I started talking to him so that he could know where I was when he couldn’t see me. This clip is at the end of the session.

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
Gallery | This entry was posted in Clicker Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

