Atty on the Trailer and Pedestal, 5-6-13

In this session of about 27 minutes, I wanted to focus on something else to give him a break from working with the trailer.

I started with having Atticus walk forward onto the pedestal, then forward off the pedestal with his front feed and onto the pedestal with his hind feet, then continue forward until all four feet were on the ground in front of the pedestal.

However, he checked out the trailer at the very beginning but found the doors were closed. We went to the pedestal and I had to work hard to get his attention away from what little grass was there. He did the pedestal work perfectly, so I then allowed him to go to the trailer.

I opened the doors and he seemed interested but cautious. I shaped him to load and he got halfway on, then backed off, shaped some more, and he got all the way on. I did not put the butt bar up or close the back doors. I walked to the front to CT and to the back. He got off and I closed the doors.

He walked to the front of the trailer between it and the barn. I asked him to back using the temporary cue of “pickles”. I tried to target him away from the trailer, but he walked back to the front again. I backed him again and opened the trailer for loading and targeted him to it. He went up front again and I backed him again, and this time held the door so that he could not go to the front from outside the trailer. (All the goodies are up there and he knows it!)

He got on and then off. I shaped him again and he got on. I fed him up front and waited. I also targeted him there, walked to the back touched a hock, walked up front, and CT. Targeted a few times, walked back, touched a hock, CT’d up front. Then I walked back again, cued back once, I waited, but he stayed on. I walked up front, CT for his looking at me and targeted a few times. I walked back again, waited for him to look at me over his shoulder, cued back, waited, cued again, waited, cued again, and he backed off. CT and I closed the doors.

He walked up front again and I backed him out again and tried targeting to get him to turn away from the trailer. That didn’t work well, so, instead, I shaped a turn on the haunches to get him turned away. Then we went to the pedestal again to finish.

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
Gallery | This entry was posted in Clicker Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

