Atty with Side Door Closing, 5-2-13

In this session, which lasted approximately 20 minutes, I have raised the criteria to include closing the side door. The butt bar is up and the back doors are closed. At the very beginning, I closed the door almost to latching, but Atty pushed it open. I then softly latched the door and kept it closed for five seconds. This rattled him as he bounced around a little. That was raising the bar too high too soon.

I opened the door asked him to target the boat bumper two or three times and threw in some treats on top of his breakfast.

From then on we practiced closing the door to see his reaction and how far I could close it and still have him stay calm or not push on the door. I worked on closing the side door 11 more times, giving him the choice of pushing the door open if he wanted or needed to.

Then using targeting to both give him something easy to do and possibly as an initiator signal, I gradually closed the door a bit at a time. Over time the closing of the door became a cue for targeting the boat bumper.

This clip starts at about 15 minutes into the session when I left the side door open and we practiced my walking away for him to stand. I did this maybe three times.

At 0:28, I walk back to pen the back doors and walk forward to click and treat.

At 1:21, I take the butt bar down and walk forward to click and treat.

At 1:40, I walk back to give him the cue to back off.

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
Gallery | This entry was posted in Clicker Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

