Atticus on the Trailer with Ollie, 4-30-13

This is the second day I’ve put Ollie in with Atty. But today I changed two things to help Ollie with being on the trailer: 1) I gave him lots to eat (three cut-up carrots and four Stud Muffins) to give him more to do and to help him like being in the trailer more; and 2) after I off-loaded Atty, I kept Atty close to me so that Ollie wouldn’t feel abandoned and get more stressed.

The whole session last 13 minutes and this is the last 2.5 minutes of it.

Atty did very well in waiting for me to open the doors, then drop the butt bar, then unhook the butt bar, then back out on cue.

I’ve noticed that as Atty has gotten so comfortable being in the trailer, that he does not drop any manure. But Ollie’s side has lots. Along with other signs, this tells me that Ollie is stressed being in the trailer.

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
Gallery | This entry was posted in Clicker Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

