Atty Getting on and Staying on the Trailer with Grass, 4-23-13

Today’s experiment in trailer loading:

On Peggy Hogan’s advice, since I’m working for duration for an upcoming saddle fitting trip, I fed Atty in the trailer with the door open and the butt bar down.

I stayed with him for a little while and I had a small bucket of freshly picked grass with me.

In the beginning he was not much interested in the grass since he had his breakfast.

After a couple of minutes, I left him alone. He stayed in the trailer for seven minutes, then got off, looked around, and got back on again! He only stayed on that time for 18 seconds.

I came back with more grass and he loaded again, stayed on by himself for 1.5 minutes, got off and left to find his own grass.

Thirty seconds later, he got on again by himself and stayed on for just over two minutes. He got off and hung around a bit fairly close by the trailer.

I came by again with more grass and he got on again and stayed on for just over two minutes.

We repeated this one more time: I came by with grass, he got on, stayed on for two minutes, and got off.

🙂

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
Gallery | This entry was posted in Clicker Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

