Atty in the Trailer, Butt Bar Up, Door Closes, 4-4-13

This is the last 5 1/2 minutes of an 11-minute session today, 4-4-13.

I had two goals. The first is that I wanted to hook up the butt bar as soon as he got on because that is how I do it. He loads, I walk behind him and hook up the butt bar after he gets on. We hadn’t practiced that until this session. I was able to do that the first time he loaded and for each of the next times as well. He loaded five times total in this session.

The second goal, if the opportunity presented itself, was to practice closing the door now that he was comfortable with the butt bar hooked – once again raising criteria.

The sequence before this clip went as follows: He loaded, I hooked the butt bar, he stayed, I clicked and treated him up front. Then I asked him to back out on cue, which he did.

Then after cheating a bit by being between the barn and trailer, he loaded again, butt bar up, treat up front, targeted three times. Then I walked back and touched his hock, clicked and treated up front. Practiced the standing cue (my turning away). Then I took the butt bar down, I clicked and treated him up front, targeted, stand practice, then I asked him to back off on cue.

He loaded again, practiced standing, butt bar up, he backed a bit, waited, got a treat up front, targeted, stand practice, butt bar down, and then he backed out with no cue.

Then you can see in the clip what we did:

He loaded, butt bar up, treated up front, stand practice, partially closed the door, clicked and treated up front, targeted. Closed door again, he backed a little and stopped, clicked and treated up front, targeted. Closed door again, backed a little, clicked and treated, targeted. He looked around some as he alerted to something. When he was with me again, I closed the door, his head went up but he stayed, “good boy” and a Stud Muffin, targeted. Closed door, head up, clicked and treated. Closed door, head, clicked, treated, targeted. Then I took the butt bar down, clicked and treated up front, Stud Muffin, asked to back off on cue, he backed a little, went forward again, I waited, cued a second time, waited, cued a third time and he came off. Done. 🙂

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
Gallery | This entry was posted in Clicker Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

