Atty and the Trailer, Ollie and Backing, 4-1-13

Here are four videos with my boys today:

I liked our session today and this clip only shows a little bit of a 25- to 30-minute session. For FIVE minutes before this clip, Atty was standing quietly on the trailer. He stayed another TWO minutes after this clip. Then he backed off and got right back on for another almost THREE minutes, got off again, but got right back on again. He’s really settling in.

Here are Ollie and me – he’s backing onto the pedestal and I’m trying hard not to cue him with my body, so I’m sitting. 🙂

Here my goal is to get Ollie to back into the barrel to push it away. He has other ideas, however. He is clearly uncomfortable with the idea of backing into that thing. After several minutes and attempts to back into it (and trying to line him up properly to do that), I had to drop back down to just “clicking him for being a horse” and allowing him to offer something even tinier, such as just standing in front of it. For instance, he might rest a hind leg but not back. That’s okay. At some point, he’ll get tired on the one hip and shift his weight to the other hind leg. Then I can click and treat. Sometimes you just have to reward them for what they CAN offer and not what you’re looking for. How small can you go? 🙂

Ollie flips the barrel up. 🙂

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
Gallery | This entry was posted in Clicker Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

